Late last year, Instagram updated its apps to include an option for users to broadcast live to their followers. When the feature was unveiled, users could only broadcast to their followers and once they were done, that was it, the video disappeared forever from the platform. This means that you had not way of watching your live broadcasts back.
Instagram is making some changes to its platform and is finally adding an option that will allow users to save their live broadcasts. This option was added to an update that rolled out to the official Instagram apps for both Android and iOS. With this, Instagram Live will be at par with services such as Periscope from Twitter and Facebook Live. Both these services allow users to save their Live videos that they or their contacts who weren’t online when streaming could watch.
Make Users Comfortable When Live Streaming
When Instagram Live was unveiled, the company said that it did not include the option to save the videos as it wanted users feel comfortable that their videos will not be saved forever. This means that users were able to stream what they want without the fear that someone may use the video against them.
The videos are not saved automatically, once the live stream ends, users are presented with an option in the right upper corner to save the video. Only the video will be saved, information such as how many people watched the video or the interactions will not be saved on your phone. In a statement, Instagram, said, “You’ll only be able to save your video — not the comments, likes, number of viewers or any live interactions. After saving, tap Done and your live video will be saved to your camera roll but will no longer be available in the app.”
As mentioned above, this feature is rolling out to Instagram for iOS and Android and brings version 10.12 of the platform to both apps. Go to your respective app store and update your app if you want that option.